Click here. We're here to help!

FirstLight Announces Community Scholarship Awards

June 18, 2021
FirstLight Announces Community Scholarship Awards
It is with great pleasure the FirstLight Community Foundation announces the 2021 Scholarship Award Recipients.  Over 430 submissions were made from the El Paso, Fort Bliss, and Las Cruces communities-a 357% increase over prior year-representing over sixty schools from Texas and New Mexico.

Instead of the traditional paper-driven scholarship model, the FirstLight Community Foundation partnered with the Paso del Norte Community Foundation and Kaleidoscope to drive a Gen Z friendly online experience touting no essays!  Students were able to apply online answering a handful of questions.  And better yet, able to upload videos sharing how the scholarship would benefit them, their family, and their community.

The 19 scholarship award recipients include:


Miguel Angel
Dena Antowan
Briana Arvizu
Max Beldner
Emiliano Beltran
Allianna Chavez
Emma Carrillo
Jaime Chavira
Thomas Cox
Olivia Drake
Ryan Evans
Bianca Hernandez
Melanie Saenzpardo
Aitiana Sanchez
Eleanor Schoenbrun
Isaiah Solis
Zachary Swindlehurst
Aubrey Urquidi
Bryant Valenzuela

The volunteer Community Foundation Board would like to thank the students, parents/guardians, and school administrators for their participation and involvement.  A special salute to our membership, community partners, and our FirstLight Federal Credit Union employees for their donations.  We truly appreciate your ongoing support!

Congratulations award winners!

Of note, to assist our Foundation award more scholarships in the future, we are holding our 1st Annual FirstLight Community Foundation Golf Classic on Friday, October 22, 2021 at Butterfield Trail Golf Club.  More details to follow regarding play, donations, and sponsorship opportunities coming soon.

We too will be selling custom t-shirts by local artist, Diego "Robot" Martinez-where proceeds will be going directly to the Foundation.